8th December 2023
Make a Donation

The 28 states President Kiir has announced

Author : | Published: Saturday, October 3, 2015

President Salva Kiir issued a republican order last evening, spliting the ten states into 28. But which are those 28?

The SPLM in Opposition says the move is a violation of the peace agreement, which they said was based on ten states.

Below is the list:
1. Imatong State: Torit County, Ikotos County, Lopa County, Magwi County
2. Lomurnyang State: Kapoeta South County, Kapoeta East County, Kapoeta North County, Budi County.
3. Maridi State: Maridi County, Iba County
4. Amadi State: Mundri West County, Mundri East County, Mvolo County
5. Gbudwe State: Nzara County, Yambio County, Tumbura County
6. Jubik State: Juba County
7. Terekeka State: Terekeka County, Gemeza County, Tali County and Tejor County.
8. Yei River State: Yei County, Kajo-Keji County, Morobo County and Lainya County.
9. Wau State: Bagari County, Wau County.
10. Aweil State: Aweil South County, Aweil Centre County.
11. Lol State: Aweil West County, Aweil North County, Raga County.
12. Aweil State: Aweil East County.
13. Twic State: Twic West County.
14. Gogrial State: Gogrial East County, Gogrial West County.
15. Tonj State: Tonj North County, Tonj East County , Tonj South County
16. Eastern Lake State, Yirol West County, Yirol East County, Awerial County
17. Western Lake State , Rumbek East County , Rumbek North County , Rumbek Centre County
18. Gok State Cueibet County
19. Northern Liech State: Rubkhona County, Koch County , Mayom County
20. Southern Liech State: Leer County, Mayendit County, Panyijar County
21. Ruweng StateParieng CountyAbiemnhom County
22. Eastern Nile State: Malakal County , Maban County , Pigi County , Baliet County , Melut County , Renk County
23. Jonglei State: Bor County, Duk County, Twic East County
24. Western Nile State: Panyikang County, Kodok County, Manyo County
25. Western Bieh State, Fangak County, Ayod County
26. East Bieh State, Akobo County, Uror County, Nyirol County
27. Latjor State: Nasir County, Ulang County, Maiwut County, Longichuk County
28. Boma State: Pochalla County, Pibor County
29. Abyei (Special Administrative Area).

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!