21st April 2024
Make a Donation

Visa at the South Sudan border for Kenyans, Ugandans, Rwandans.

Author : | Published: Tuesday, October 29, 2013

President Salva Kiir has announced that South Sudan will introduce visas on arrival for citizens of East Africa.

This means that passport holders from Rwanda, Kenya and Uganda will be able to get their visa at any border entry point.

The President made the announcement during a meeting between the four heads of the States from the Great Lakes Region, which came  at the end of the third Infrastructure Summit held in the Rwandan capital, Kigali, yesterday.

As well as President Paul Kagame of Rwanda, the meeting was attended by the Presidents of Uganda and Kenya.

The summit is an initiative to bring together the four countries to fast track regional development.

To this end, all four Presidents agreed to hasten transit cargo from Kenya’s port of Mombasa.

After the meeting, President Salva Kiir said that South Sudan gives its “whole hearted support” to the strengthening and improvement of trade and free movement with the East African countries.

South Sudan currently has observer status in the East African Community economic bloc. It is waiting for the approval of its membership’s application to join the regional body.

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!