15th July 2024
Make a Donation

Egypt’s Alexandria University to set up two branches in South Sudan

Author: Alhadi Hawari | Published: Monday, February 26, 2024

Signpost of Alexandria University branch of Tonj. (-)

South Sudan and Egypt ministries of higher education have agreed to establish two branches of Alexandria University in Juba and Tonj region of Warrap State.

The two education institutions made the resolution after revising a 2016 Memorandum of Understanding in Cairo on Sunday.

Dr. Anei Mangong Anei, the coordinator for the Alexandria University branches in South Sudan, confirmed the resolution in a social media statement.

Dr. Mangong said the Minister of High Education, Gabriel Changson Chang, and his Egyptian counterpart, Dr. Ayman Ashour signed the document on the weekend.

According to the MOU, the South Sudan Branch shall open two campuses in Tonj region and Juba.

“This official announcement is a significant benchmark for the University’s expansion plan and a testament to both countries’ commitment to promoting quality education and strengthening their diplomatic ties,” Mangong said.

Alexandria University is a public research university, established in 1938 as a satellite of Fouad University, and became an independent entity in 1942.



Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!