23rd April 2024
Make a Donation

Cabinet endorses return to 10 states+

Authors: Woja Emmanuel | Okot Emmanuel | Published: Wednesday, February 19, 2020

The Minister of Information, Telecommunication and Postal Services, Michael Makuei Lueth speaks to Eye Radio at J1 on July 9, 2019 | Credit | Joakino Francis/Eye Radio

The Council of Ministers on Wednesday endorsed the resolution of the presidency that returned the country to the ten states and three administrative areas.

The three administrative areas are Ruweng, Greater Pibor, and Abyei.

After the resolution, the Minister of Justice Constitutional Affairs, Paulino Wanawilla had to include the changes in the transitional constitution of the count.

He tabled the amended article 161 (1) to the cabinet earlier today.

The resolution was unanimously adopted in a meeting chaired by the First Vice President, Taban Deng Gai.

“This provision talks of the number of states in South Sudan and that provision is 161 (1) was deleted and replaced with a new provision establishing the ten states plus the three administrative areas Abyei, Boma and Ruweng administrative areas,” Information Minister Michael Makuei told the media after the extraordinary cabinet meeting.

He said the cabinet directed the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs to table the amended article before the parliament for approval.

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!