14th April 2024
Make a Donation

Parliament abolishes post of Minority Leader

Author : | Published: Friday, September 16, 2016

The National Legislative Assembly

The Chairperson of the Information committee in the Transitional National Legislative Assembly says the position of the leader of minority has been removed.

Hon Oliver Mori says the peace agreement does not provide for the post, because there is no longer opposition in the parliament.

There will only be three chief whips, one from the ruling SPLM, one from the SPLM in Opposition, and the third from the other political parties.

The chief whip of the other political parties, Hon Gabriel Rorej, said the move has been made with directives from the president.

He said the changes are in accordance with the provisions of the peace agreement.

“So I don’t see here another room for opposition, or for minority,” Hon Rorej told the media.

However, the Leader of Minority, Hon Onyoti Adigo, has criticized the move. He says the Assembly Business Conduct should have been amended first.

Hon Adigo assumed the post of the Leader of Minority in 2010.

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!