23rd February 2024
Make a Donation

President Kiir pardons 20 inmates

President Salva Kiir has granted pardons to twenty inmates from government prisons across the country as part of end-of-year celebrations.

The inmates were set free in a Republican decree read on the state-run TV (SSBC) on Friday.

Out of the 20 inmates, six juveniles were set free from Juba Juvenile Reformatory Center and these include Albino Sebit, Yohana Alison, Daniel Deng Ayuol, Yussuf Samson Malis, Joshua Salva Giro, and Harun Spano.

Two are from Juba National Prison and they include Joseph Maniel Maker and Emmanuel John Mogga.

The President pardoned Abdallah Dhieu Monyluak, James Ohisa Malang, Hakim Bol Banak, and Yai Chol Nyok from Malakal Central Prison.

Kiir released two inmates from Western Equatoria’s Yambio Central Prison, namely Apath Wol Apath and Awach Nun Chol.

Three were set free from Rumbek Central Prison and these include Garang Lual Deng, Aken Lual Lual, and Lek Deng William.

The Head of State also pardoned two juveniles from Aweil Central Prison Aweil Juvenile Center, and Torit State Prison who have been identified as Khamis Edward and Simon Ongejuk Philip respectively.

No single female inmate is among the freed convicts.

President Kiir cited Article 101 (q) of the Transitional Constitution of South Sudan 2011 in conjunction with section 285 of the Code of Criminal Procedure for the release of the inmates.

In February 2023, President Kiir granted a pardon to seventy-one prisoners including thirty-six on death row inmates, and 35 inmates who failed to pay compensations or fines.




Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!