14th April 2024
Make a Donation

South Sudan elects 9 lawmakers to EAC parliament

Author: Wol Mapal | Published: Saturday, October 1, 2022

EALA candidates before the elections (Photo: Obaj Okuj).

The Revitalized Transitional National Legislature confirmed late on Friday the election of nine MPs to represent the country at the East African Legislative Assembly, EALA.

The successful candidates were announced after restless elections involving contenders from the peace parties, as well as independent candidates.

The inititial number of the candidates who contested was 26.

SPLM-elected candidates include Gai Deng Nhial with 333 votes, Dr. Anne Itto with 332 votes, Dr, Woda Odok with 326 votes, Khim Gai Ruot with 296 and Gabriel Garang Aher with 294 votes.

Sadia James and Luke Thomson Thoan, two candidates from SPLM-IO won by 300 votes and 296 votes respectively.

Meanwhile, independent candidates Mukilia Kenedy (247 votes) and Gideon Gatpan Thoar (209 votes) made it to the regional parliament despite contesting as independent candidates.

SSOA, OPP and USAP are all said to have been defeated in the election that lasted almost to midnight at Freedom Hall on Friday.

After the elections, the East African Court of Justice is expected to verify whether proper procedures were followed in the elections of the 9 members.

Article 50 of the East African Legislative Assembly on Election of Members of the Assembly says, the National Assembly of each Partner States shall elect nine members of the Assembly, who shall represent the various political parties represented in the National Assembly.

South Sudan officially joined the East African Community in 2016, despite concerns from opposition leaders that it would turn the country into a dumping ground for goods from the region.





Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!