16th June 2024
Make a Donation

TZ cuts fees on residence permit for EA state nationals

Author : | Published: Friday, November 4, 2016

Tanzania has reduced to 500 US dollars, residence permit fees, for nationals of the East African Community member states, which South Sudan is part.

Before the reduction, all foreigners seeking to live in Tanzania paid 2000 US Dollars for resident permits annually.

The country’s Immigration Services Commissioner for Border Control and Management told Tanzanian local media yesterday that the change was in line with the government’s commitment to implement the EAC protocol.

“These changes seek to provide preferential treatments to citizens of the EAC member countries, as compared to those coming from other countries,” he told the Daily News .

The daily reports that there have been complaints by foreigners from the East African countries of being overcharged for the residence permits.

Kenyans, Ugandans, Burundians, Rwandese and South Sudanese wishing to reside in Tanzania, will now pay 500 US dollars

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!