1st February 2023
Make a Donation

Thirty-five MPs axed before taking oath

Author: Jale Richard | Published: Sunday, July 4, 2021

File: President Salva Kiir listens to the national anthem at the TNLA in Juba, February 21, 2017. REUTERS/Jok Solomon

South Sudan’s President Salva Kiir has revoked the appointment of 35 members of parliament to the Transitional National Legislative Assembly.

In a presidential decree on Saturday evening, President Kiir revoked the appointment of up to 35 MPs, days before they are sworn into office.

The majority of those dropped were appointed on the incumbent SPLM-ITGONU ticket in May this year.

No reasons were given for their dismissal.

In Central Equatorial State, Kiir revoked the appointment of Jennifer Yabu Lasuba, Huda Michael Laila Daudi, Gowan John Elias, Suzy Anthony Juma, Emmanuel Taban Martin, and Diana Richard Wani – all from the incumbent SPLM-ITGONU.

In Eastern Equatoria State, Eunice Nakor Paul, Hellen Orasio, Daniel Naroi Lochek, and Pasca Ohisa Oduho also lost their seats.

In Jonglei State, seven appointees from the SPLM got their appointments revoked. They are Chol Paul Pawel, Nyang Chol Duor, James Guot Pur, Nyawaraga Martin Nyang, Elizabeth Akuol Chuang, Mary Akech Bior, and Tabitha Nyanchin Kuojo.

Others include Suzana Peter Machar in Lakes State, and Peter Lual Lual in Northern Bahr el Ghazal State-all SPLM members.

In Warrap, Mary Nyanut Ring Machar and Joseph Garang Maluil – all SPLM also lost their positions.

Maria Nyahok William in Upper Nile State of SSOA and Neima Abbas Eldo of SPLM in Western Bahr el Ghazal State are the sole MPs to have lost their positions in their respective states.

In Unity state, Mary Paul Ngundeng, Innocent Lazarus Latjor, and Simon Gatluak Pech Dak–SPLM members and Peter Gatkuoth Thot Pakam of SSOA also lost their positions.

Meanwhile in Western Equatoria State, four MPs—Anita David Gamu, Roselyn Samuel Abujohn, Sepura Siapai Richard, and Loto Alibiapai – all SPLM lost their positions.

In Pibor Administrative Area, three appointed MPs got their appointments revoked. They are Lawrence Ibon, Ongeso Cham Ader, and Kengen Jakor Bejo.

In Abyei Administrative Area, only Deng Arop Kuol of SPLM lost his position.

In another decree, the president appointed new MPs to replace those who have been dropped.

See the full list

  1. Bilal Moses Onesmus – CE SPLM
  2. Henry Stephen Tanga – CE SPLM
  3. Thomas Wani Kundu – CE SPLM
  4. Peter Samuel Moga – CE SPLM
  5. Sobur John Mansuk – CE SPLM
  6. Joseph Dilly Lokura – CE SPLM
  7. Lazarus Parmela Farajallah – CE SPLM
  8. Natire Anne Grace – EE SPLM
  9. Louis Willy Ationg – EE SPLM
  10. Grace Abalang Adiho – EE SPLM
  11. Elisabeth Nyaruach Tap – Jonglei SPLM
  12. Kutin Bayek Din – Jonglei – SPLM
  13. David Yien Bilieth – Jonglei SPLM
  14. Mary Nyarieka Lorjok – Jonglei SPLM
  15. Esbola Majok Bangot – Jonglei SPLM
  16. Nyitur Daniel Dhieu – Lakes SPLM
  17. Adhieu Thiet – Northern Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  18. Victoria Adhar Arop – Warrap SPLM
  19. Samuel Duwar Deng – Warrap SPLM
  20. Nadia Mahajub Babiker – Western Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  21. Mary Yol Badeng – Unity SPLM
  22. Nyalok James Thiong – Unity SPLM
  23. Robert Ruai Kuol – Unity SPLM
  24. Nyuon Janguan Loi – Unity SPLM
  25. Saleh Saaid Ukuh – WE SPLM
  26. Vosca Martin Enocka – WE SPLM
  27. Ketura Yola Ambara – WE SPLM
  28. Elnama Daniel Joseph – WE SPLM
  29. Lorian Ibon – PAA SPLM
  30. Charles Welo – PAA SPLM
  31. Francis Lokurnyang – PAA SPLM
  32. Ayen Luka Ngor – Warrap National Agenda
  33. Anthony Jervase Yak – Western Bahr el Ghazal National Agenda
  34. Martin Magok Kawai – Unity SSOA
  35. Chuong Wan Rieth Kuol – Jonglei SSOA.

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.