23rd September 2023
Make a Donation

President Kiir will chair EAC next year, says S.G Mutuku

Author: Lasaba Memo | Published: Thursday, September 14, 2023

EAC S.G Peter Mutuku meets President Kiir in Juba/Courtesy

The Secretary General of the East African Community has revealed that President Kiir will be elected as the chair of the block next year.

Peter Mutuku Mathuk spoke about the leadership role while he met President Kiir yesterday in Juba, the Presidential Press Unit reported.

Currently, the Chairperson of the East Africa Community is the President of Burundi √Čvariste Ndayishimiye, whose term will end next year.

President Kiir met with the East African Community (EAC) delegation to discuss East African Community affairs and the status of the implementation of the EAC integration program.

The Undersecretary of East African Community Affairs, Beny Gideon also confirmed that the EAC chairmanship will be held by South Sudan at next year’s summit.

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organization consisting of 7 partner countries: Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Uganda, and Tanzania.


Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!