29th May 2023
Make a Donation

Parliament approves creation of new counties in Juba

Author : | Published: Thursday, August 28, 2014

The proposed counties in Juba of Central Equatoria State have been confirmed, the chairperson of the decentralization and state affairs committee in the Council of States has said.

Hon. John Maswa says the number of the counties have reached 11 with Jemeza, which was approved by the Council of States yesterday.

He says Juba East County was changed to be Oponi County in the final copy of the proposal.

“The newly created ones are nine, plus Terekeka plus Juba district which is juba Municipality will be eleven, said Hon Maswa.

“It will be the resolution that will be worked out from the office of the speaker then it will be taken to the president, it is confirmed yes.”

Honorable John Maswa said that the work of the Council of State is only to carry out visibility studies and create administrative areas.

He said it is now the responsibility of the state Governor of Central Equatoria to form the counties leaderships after they are approved by the president.


Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!