27th February 2024
Make a Donation

Kiir forms ‘anti-roadblock’ committee

Author : | Published: Sunday, October 16, 2016

President Salva Kiir has issued an order, forming a committee that will oversee smooth operations of the aid agencies across the country.

This comes amidst UN reports that aid groups are restricted by security agencies from delivering relief items to the vulnerable people in the areas affected by violence.

But in an interview with the Atlantic Council in the US recently, the First Vice President Taban Deng Gai blamed the obstructions on poor roads and insecurity.

According to the order read out on SSBC last evening, the humanitarian high-level oversight committee is tasked with removing all the illegal roadblocks.

The committee, which is chaired by cabinet affairs minister Martin Elia, comprises of national ministers, security officials, and representatives of UNOCHA and UNMISS.

The members include:

Hussien Mar, the Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Awut Deng, the Minister of Gender,  Mangar Buong, the SPLA deputy Chief of Staff for Operations, Akol Koor, the Director for Internal Security Bureau, James Biel Ruot, Deputy Police Inspector General, and Lokulenge Lole Timayo, the Chairman of the South Sudan Relief and Rehabilitation Commission.

The representatives of UNMISS and UNOCHA are yet to be named.

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!