9th December 2023
Make a Donation

Justice minister presents EAC treaty to NLA

Author : | Published: Thursday, May 12, 2016

The Minister of Justice, Paulino Wanawila has presented to the national parliament the treaty of the East African Community for ratification.

South Sudan will officially become a full member of the regional bloc after the parliament approves the treaty.

The bloc aims at widening and deepening cooperation among the partner states and other regional economic communities, among others.

Member countries include Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Burundi and now South Sudan.

President Slava Kiir signed the Treaty of Accession in Tanzania last month on behalf the country, while the Tanzanian President, also the Chairperson of the East African Community, John Pombe Magufuli signed on behalf of the bloc.

Mr. Wanawilla told parliament yesterday that South Sudan wants to implement the communique of the East African Community in the areas of cooperation related to trade and finance in the day of association.

Other areas include investment, monetary and fiscal affairs. The document will be discussed by the August House today.

The National Alliance says the membership would make South Sudan a dumping ground for goods from the region.

But government officials insist that this would improve cooperation with member states in the bloc.

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!