Featured, News, Peace, Politics

Revitalized agreement increases number of deputy speakers of parliament

National Legislative Assembly, 11th Sept 2018 | photo | Joakino Francis

The signed revitalized peace agreement has increased the number of deputy speakers of parliament to three.

In the agreement, the speaker shall be selected by the incumbent Transitional Government of National Unity.

Meanwhile one Deputy Speaker shall be nominated by SPLM/A-IO; another, a female – shall be nominated by the incumbent TGoNU; and a third Deputy Speaker to be nominated by the other political parties.

The Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan was signed by all parties on Wednesday in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

President Salva Kiir signed on behalf of the Government, Dr Riek Machar signed on behalf of the SPLM-IO and representatives of other parties including opposition groups, women, youth, and civil society also signed the agreement.

Other include the faith-based groups, eminent persons, IGAD, the AU and international partners.

“The Transitional Period shall commence eight (8) months after signing of this Agreement and the term of office shall be thirty-six (36) months preceded by eight (8) months of a Pre-Transitional Period,” the agreement partly read.

The revitalized transitional government shall hold elections 60 days before the end of the Transitional Period in order to establish a democratically elected government.

President Salva Kiir will head the government and have five deputy including Dr. Riek Machar who shall assume his role as the First Vice President.

The mandate of the President and the First Vice President shall remain as per the 2015 agreement.

Meanwhile, the other four deputies will head four clusters.

Economic Cluster by the Vice President nominated by Incumbent TGoNU; Service Cluster by the Vice President nominated by SSOA; Infrastructure Cluster by Vice President nominated by Incumbent TGoNU; and Gender and Youth Cluster  by the Vice President nominated by FDs.

The revitalized agreement increase the number of ministers to 35 from 30 in the 2015 agreement and the deputies to 10 from 8.

Ministerial clusters have been increased from 3 to 5. They include Governance Cluster, Economic Cluster, Service Cluster, The Infrastructure Cluster and The Gender and Youth Cluster.

The number of Member of the Transitional National Legislative Assembly have been increased from 400 to 550 and headed by a speaker from the incumbent government who will be deputized by 4 people.

On issues on boundaries, an Independent Boundary Commission of 15 members shall be formed two week after the signing of the revitalized agreement.

“The function of the IBC shall be to consider the number of States of the Republic of South Sudan, their boundaries, the composition and restructuring of the Council of States and to make recommendations on the same,” the agreement added.

On the state and government responsibility sharing, the government takes 55%, the SPLM-IO takes 27%, the South Sudan Opposition Alliance takes 10% and the other Opposition Political Parties take 8%.